## **OXFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL**

**MINUTES** of the meeting held on Tuesday, 20 May 2014 commencing at 10.00 am and finishing at 11.55 am.

#### **Present:**

Councillor Tim Hallchurch MBE - in the Chair

Councillors:

Anne Purse Lynda Atkins Jamila Azad **David Bartholomew** Mike Beal Maurice Billington Liz Brighouse OBE Kevin Bulmer Nick Carter Louise Chapman Mark Cherry John Christie Sam Coates Yvonne Constance Surinder Dhesi Arash Fatemian Neil Fawcett Jean Fooks Mrs C. Fulljames Anthony Gearing Janet Godden

Mark Gray Patrick Greene Pete Handley Jenny Hannaby Nick Hards Neville F. Harris Mrs Judith Heathcoat Hilary Hibbert-Biles Simon Hoare John Howson Ian Hudspeth Bob Johnston Richard Langridge Stewart Lilly Lorraine Lindsay-Gale Sandy Lovatt Mark Lygo Kieron Mallon Charles Mathew David Nimmo Smith Neil Owen

Zoé Patrick **Glynis Phillips** Susanna Pressel Laura Price G.A. Reynolds Alison Rooke Rodnev Rose Gillian Sanders John Sanders Les Sibley Roz Smith Val Smith Lawrie Stratford John Tanner Melinda Tilley **Michael Waine** Richard Webber **David Williams** David Wilmshurst

The Council considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and decided as set out below. Except insofar as otherwise specified, the reasons for the decisions are contained in the agenda and reports, copies of which are attached to the signed Minutes.

# 22/14 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2014/15 COUNCIL YEAR (Agenda Item 1)

Before inviting the Solicitor of the Council to seek nominations for the office of Chairman of the Council, Councillor Tim Hallchurch (the retiring Chairman) addressed the meeting, reflecting on his year in office. He thanked his wife and his personal assistants (Sara Lenihan and Lubnor Khalid) for all their help and support during the year. He then presented his wife with a consort badge and some flowers and presented Lubnor Khalid with flowers as a token of his appreciation. Councillors Hudspeth, Brighouse, Patrick and Williams paid tribute to Councillor Hallchurch.

Councillor Patrick proposed and Councillor Hudspeth seconded that Councillor Anne Purse be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2014/15 Council Year.

There being no further nominations and no dissent, Councillor Anne Purse was declared elected as Chairman for the 2014/15 Council Year. Councillor Purse then read and signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

**RESOLVED:** (unanimously) that Councillor Anne Purse be elected Chairman of the Council for the 2014/15 Council Year.

### 23/14 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2014/15 COUNCIL YEAR

(Agenda Item 2)

The Chairman called for nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman. Councillor Brighouse proposed and Councillor Hudspeth seconded that Councillor Val Smith be elected Vice-Chairman for the 2014/15 Council Year. There being no further nominations and no dissent, Councillor Val Smith was declared elected. Councillor Smith read and signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

**RESOLVED:** (unanimously) that Councillor Val Smith was elected as Vice-Chairman for the 2014/15 Council Year.

#### 24/14 MINUTES

(Agenda Item 3)

**RESOLVED:** that the Minutes of the Meeting held on 1 April 2014 be approved and signed.

# 25/14 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

(Agenda Item 4)

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Steve Harrod.

26/14 OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS (Agenda Item 6)

(Agenda item 6)

The Chairman reported as follows:

Members were asked to note that an Armed forces Day was to be held on the 23 June 2014. Further details would be sent to all members of the Council closer to the time. Members were informed that Rachel Dunn, Senior Democracy Officer would be in the Common Hall Café from 11.45 am – 1.00 pm for those members wishing to complete their CRB checks.

Members were reminded that there would be a briefing on the City Deal and Oxfordshire Strategic Economic Plan from 1.00 pm to 2.00pm in the Council Chamber.

The Chairman invited all Members to join her for a champagne reception at the Council Site and 2.00 pm.

#### 27/14 APPOINTMENTS

(Agenda Item 8)

Councillor Hudspeth moved and Councillor Rose seconded the recommendations set out below and in particular that Councillor Williams remain on the Teacher's Joint Committee.

The Leader of the Council notified Council of his intention that moving forward, Councillor Louise Chapman would be called Cabinet Member for Fire Service & Corporate Plan.

The motion was put to the vote and was carried nem con.

**RESOLVED:** (nem con)

(a) to note the delegations made by the Leader of the Council with regard to the functions of the Cabinet.

In relation to Committees and Review of Political Balance:

- (a) to confirm the political balance on committees shown in Annex 3 to the report;
- (b) to appoint to committees the councillors and co-opted members shown in Annex 2, subject to any changes reported at the meeting and in particular nominate Councillor David Williams to the place on the Teacher's Joint Committee referred to at paragraph 5 of the report.

#### 28/14 LOCAL TRANSPORT PLAN UPDATE

(Agenda Item 9)

The Council had before them a report (CC9) which gave an update on five of the area strategies within the LTP3's implementation plan which had been updated: these were for Banbury, Bicester, Carterton, Science Vale and Witney, covering the parts of the County likely to experience significant growth to 2030. The area strategy for Oxford was also currently undergoing review. The updates had been necessary to bring the proposed transport improvements in each area into line with Local Plans, thereby supporting the Council's approach to securing funding for key infrastructure required to support planned growth. The proposed changes were in line with the overarching objectives and policies of LTP3.

Councillor Nimmo Smith moved and Councillor Hudspeth seconded the recommendations as set out in the report and on the face of the Agenda.

Following debate, the motion was put to the vote and was carried by 49 votes to 0, with 12 abstentions.

**RESOLVED:** (by 49 votes 0, with 12 abstentions) to adopt the updated Area Strategies for Banbury, Bicester, Carterton, Science Vale and Witney, as attached in Annexes 1-5, to replace the current strategies for these areas in Local Transport Plan 3.

#### 29/14 SCRUTINY COMMITTEES - ANNUAL REPORT

(Agenda Item 10)

The Council had before them the Scrutiny Annual Report (CC10), which provided an overview of the work of the Council's three scrutiny committees; Performance Scrutiny, Education Scrutiny and Health Overview & Scrutiny scrutinising service activity and performance as well as Cabinet decisions taken over the past year.

The Audit and Governance Committee had reviewed the report and commented that focus on the achievements and outcomes of the work of each committee was a welcome improvement. The report had also been reviewed by the Scrutiny Chairman's Co-ordinating Group.

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Brighouse, seconded by Councillor Grey and carried nem con) to receive the report.

#### 30/14 OFFICER SCHEME OF DELEGATION

(Agenda Item 11)

The Council had before them a report by the Chief Legal Officer and Monitoring Officer (CC11) which set out the proposed changes to the Council's Officer Scheme of Delegation set out in the Constitution.

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Purse, seconded by Councillor Val Smith and carried nem con)

#### 31/14 VIREMENT TO COUNCIL

(Agenda Item 12)

The Council had before them a report (CC12) which sought agreement to a number of virements which require Council approval under the Budget and Policy Framework Procedure Rules.

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Purse, seconded by Councillor Val Smith and carried nem com) to approve these virements in 2014/15.

in the Chair

Date of signing

.....